Account Login

Log in

August 16th is the next deadline for families wishing to apply for funding - perfectly timed for creative activities that begin in September!

This is the only fall deadline. The deadline after this is December 6th which is for January activities.

As always, families can download applications from the website here


Spend an Evening with Dr. Shelley Jagow

Dr. Jagow is originally from Elrose, Saskatchewan and is an alumnus of the University of Saskatchewan Music department. This event is brought to you by the SBA's Saskatoon Band Camp, with the support of the University of Saskatchewan Department of Music and Music Direct Ltd.

    Wednesday, August 14th, 7:30 pm

Quance Theatre, Education Building, U of S

No cost to attend Please RSVP to

The Wanderings of the Saskbandawanderers

Suzanne went to Monmartre where the band was directed by Ms. "T-Rex" Bircher for Jurassic Park. The grade 12 grads in the band were resplendent in their gowns and suits for their final concert. A great surprise ending for band and audience alike was the band being joined by the Rider Pep Band for their final number.


Suzanne travelled to Kindersley where the grade 8 band played as part of the high school concert as a welcome to their "new" home. They had a 50/50 draw which was won by a long standing supporter of the band who drives many miles to attend every concert. A tradition of long standing, they have a "Strawberry Social" at intermission.

Swift Current

Suzanne travelled to Swift Current where she spent an evening soaking up the music of 3 different bands from grade 9 to 12 as well as 2 choirs. The Wind Symphony is comprised of grade 9 students who had a very successful trip to Red Deer to participate in the Alberta Band Association Provincial Band Festival. The Wind Ensemble is comprised of grade 10 students and they were give 3 gold ratings at the Optimist Festival in Regina and they also received superior ratings and an Adjudicator's Choice Award from Red Deer. The Wind Orchestra is comprised of mostly grade 11 and 12 students. They also received 3 gold ratings from the Optimist Festival in Regina and 3 gold ratings and many compliments at the Whistler Con Brio Festival. A very enjoyable evening was had by all!!


KIERA - "From across the province I had the opportunity of experiencing music of all different genres! From windband music, choral, jazz, to string quartets, it was full of amazing experiences created by young musicians. I had the chance to be in attendance for Lumsden Area, Thom Area & Highschool, Riffel Area & Highschool, and a trip to Creighton!

Each school had their own unique concert, and it was evident that many hours of hard work and practicing had gone into preparing for their concert. One of my favourite moments from the trip to Creighton was the Best Seat in the House award. It was a raffle to have the best seat during the concert on a couch, with some snacks and a chance to kick back and relax! A brilliant idea! The students growth and musicality could not be accomplished without the support of the fantastic parents and teachers. Thank you for encouraging students growth through music."

BRENNAN - "It's been an absolute pleasure to journey around the province to catch some amazing school band concerts this spring. I made stops in Regina for the O’Neill and Area Bands, in Warman for the Warman Community Middle School & Warman High School Bands, in Rosetown for the Rosetown Central High School Bands, in Yorkton for the Christ the Teacher Elementary Bands, in Saskatoon for St. Joseph’s High School Grade 9 & Grade 10 Bands, and I even took a trip up north to Creighton. 

Along the way I got to listen to many fantastic young musicians and some sensational music. One of my favourite highlights of the trip was watching the Christ the Teacher mass elementary band, which consisted of all the students from grade 5 to grade 8, opening the night with playing a beautiful arrangement of O Canada. It is so cool to see how band is alive and growing in our Saskatchewan schools!" 

Saskatchewan Band Association


Contact Us

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software